Juniors Noticeboard

Juniors : Juniors Noticeboard

Showing 1 - 5 of 33 Items (Page 1 of 7)

President's Day for Juniors - Saturday 6th July 2019

The recent good weather unfortunately took a break for the 2019 Presidents day for Juniors.

A small field braved the elements which did not affect the scoring with some fantastic cards being returned.

The Presidents Prize was awarded to the best stableford score with Harry Fearn beating Peter Malkin into second place, both scoring 40 points but Harry winning on countback.

The best gross score also went to Harry with a fantastic round of 66. Harry finished the front nine two over par but six birdies and three pars on the back nine resulted in a magnificent four under gross score. Well done Harry.

Second place went to Peter Malkin with 40 points and third place to Zarak Curly with 39 points.

The two nearest the pins went to Zarak Curley on the 4th and Dylan Kirkby on the 9th.

The prize presentation took place in the clubhouse and the juniors enjoyed an excellent meal with the President Mr Brian Cockersole.

The results were as follows:

Overall winner – (Best Stableford) Harry Fearn – 40 points

Best Gross – Harry Fearn 66

2nd – Peter Malkin – 40 points

3rd Zarak Curley – 39 points

Nearest the pin 4th – Zarak Curley

Nearest the pin 9th – Dylan Kirkby

A big thank you to the President for his hospitality from the junior section


Created: 08-Jul-19 12:55

Ladies Day For Juniors

Ladies Day for Juniors

This was the inaugural event for the Club's Junior Section and it was made possible due to efforts and the commitment of the Ladies at LGC. The Trophy was won by Zarak Curly (69 gross) with Harry Fearn (71 gross) taking the runner up position.

The subsidiary competition for the younger junior members was won by Millie Salmon with Grace Pennington and Alex Salmon both tying for 2nd place.

 Lynn Ball , Lady Captain, not only acted as starter for the competition and caddied for the more junior members, she also provided drinks and cakes at the half way house for all competitors. She went on to say "I really enjoyed walking around and chatting to the little ones and it's amazing to see how far some of them can hit the ball".

 "On behalf of all the Juniors I would like to thank everyone involved for making the day a special one and I hope that it becomes a permanent fixture in the golfing calendar." Said Dave Gallimore. (Junior organiser)


Created: 25-Sep-18 11:41

Alex Does It In Two!

Nine year old Alex Salmon made his first ever birdie on the par 3 9th hole at Leek Golf Club whilst playing in the Norman Turner Trophy, a competition open to the juniors (including Academy Juniors) at the Club. Dad Ross Salmon, well known cricketer turned golfer said that Alex 'had the biggest smile on his face that I have ever seen on a golf course'. He added that 'it was a testing putt, but he holed it and was thrilled'. It is a family affair as both Mum Liz and sister Millie also play, and it was a very proud family who congratulated Alex's success.

Junior Organiser, Dave Gallimore commented "This is a terrific achievement at such a young age. I am sure that Alex and Millie can become very good players in the future if they continue to practice". Club Professional, Greg Rogula gives regular lessons to the juniors and he was pleased to report that 'The practice is going well, I gave Alex and Millie a lesson yesterday, and it is good to see them gaining the rewards.'

The photograph shows nine year old Alex and his dad Ross Salmon, following Alex's birdie on the 9th hole at Leek Golf Club.

Well Done Alex. 


Created: 31-Aug-18 12:11


The President Mr David Allen invited all juniors to participate in this annual competition on Saturday 7th July.

The format of the day was a medal with plenty of prizes on offer.

The competition was split into 2 with handicaps of 36 and under playing 18 holes and the newer and academy members playing 9 holes off the blue tees.

The prize presentation took place in the clubhouse after the juniors had enjoyed an excellent meal with the President.

The results were as follows:

Overall winner – (Best Net) Peter Malkin 93 - 25 = 68

Best Gross – Harry Fearn 72

2nd Best Net – Corey Wentworth 86 -13 = 73

3rd Best Net – Bo Robinson 97 – 24 = 73

Nearest the pin 4th (1-23 handicap) – Zarak Curley

Nearest the pin 4th (24 and over handicap) – Peter Malkin

Nearest the pin 7th (1-23 handicap) – Harry Fearn

Blue tees competition

1st - Theo Sigley-Kirtley

2nd – Mille Salmon

A big thank you to the President for his hospitality from the junior section


Created: 28-Aug-18 12:03

Leek Golf Club's Jubilee Trophy

The annual Jubilee Trophy was held recently at Leek Golf Club. A serious competition, but with lots of fun.

Nine teams of 3 players took part, with the composition of each team being: one man, one woman and one junior.

The winning team comprised: Isabella Robinson aged 13, Georgina Wilkie and Nick Wittich, with a score of 78 points.

Second were Jake Willshaw aged 16, Lady Captain, Lynne Ball and Captain, John Pennington with a score of 77 points.

And pipped at the post on countback and in third place were: 16 year old Hayden Dimmick, Karen Wilshaw and Adrian Briggs.

CONGRATULATIONS to the winners and thank you to all those who took part.  

Created: 18-Jul-18 08:23
Showing 1 - 5 of 33 Items (Page 1 of 7)
Copyright © Leek Golf Club Registered in England # 00357833, 2010-2021. All Rights Reserved.

Website Design and Cloud Hosting by
Golf Club CMSWebsite System - Golf Club CMS
Switch to Desktop ViewSwitch to Mobile View