Captain's Day for Men-2013

Mens Noticeboard : Captain's Day for Men-2013

A record 188 members participated in the largest internal event of the Leek Golf Club calendar, teeing off from 7.20am to 3.30pm in 4's all off the first tee. Starting duties were shared by Dave Gallimore and Brian Baggaley, who sent each and every player out with words of encouragement and no doubt a friendly quip.

The winner of the Captain's Prize (£250 voucher) was new member Spencer Henson, who achieved a remarkable 44 points off his handicap of 19 (adjusted off 18 to 43 points).

The prizes for divisional winners were shared as follows; 1st £100 Voucher; 2nd £75 Voucher; 3rd £50 Voucher

Divisional Winners were as follows:

Division 1 (0-9) 1st:Dan Smart 38 points (Back 9 of 17); 2nd: Darryl Spooner 38 points (Back 9 of 16); 3rd: Chris Lilley 37 points (Back 9 of 21)

Division 2 (10-15) 1st: Wayne Corden 40 points; 2nd: Mick Barker 38 points (Back 9 of 22); 3rd: John Plant 38 points (Back 9 of 21)

Division 3 (16-21) 1st: Mick Leese 39 points (Back 9 of 20); 2nd: Roy Morris 39 points (Back 9 of 19); 3rd: Alex Mitchell 35 points (Back 9 of 21)

Division 4 (22-28) 1st: Tom Lloyd 34 points (Back 9 of 19); 2nd: Mike Brown 34 points (Back 9 of 17); 3rd: Jim Bates 34 points (Back 9 of 16)

CSS was 71 and there were 25 x 2's. Nobody achieved a hole-in-one, which would have netted them a range of prizes included a £5,000 payout!

Thanks must be given to the wonderful ladies in the Millenium Pavilion who provided food and drink to the many players. Thank you Carol Mottram, Pauline Swindells, Margaret Whitfield, Marilyn Boulton, Jayne Baxter and Jackie Gallimore. 

However the biggest 'thank you' must go to Peter Mottram, Captain of Leek Golf Club, for his enormous generosity in providing the impressive prize list amongst other things. In addition the day would not have run so smoothly without the tremendous efforts of Peter's vice-captain Dave Gallimore.

Peter would like to thank everyone who attended and hopes that a repeat performance will take place next year.

Details as usual on "how-did-i-do" website via the normal links in our website.

Andrew Baxter

Match & Handicap Secretary

, .

Copyright © Leek Golf Club Registered in England # 00357833, 2010-2024. All Rights Reserved.

Website Design and Cloud Hosting by
Golf Club CMSWebsite System - Golf Club CMS
Switch to Desktop ViewSwitch to Mobile View